Our services are available to anyone affected by cancer and their family/whānau.

See below for a list of our wellbeing, information and support groups or subscribe to the calendar. 

Subscribe to the calendar

Following on from our grief and loss information session for cancer patients or carers, we are seeking interest in this 2 x 4 hour workshop session on offer for adults to process experiences of trauma, loss, and change.  Participants appreciate the peer group setting for safe sharing of their experiences and the discovery of their own resources in the grief process in response to dealing with illness, bereavement, redundancy, family break-up, relocation, natural disaster and more.   The workshop will be facilitated by Shona Lawson.   If you would like to register or wish to know more, please contact Gabrielle on 0800 226 695 . We will confirm details when we have 8 people registering.  

 

 

 

Every Tuesday at 9.30 am.  Facilitated by Glenda and Chris. Open to all patients and carers.  Meet outside The Warehouse at 9.30 a.m. for a walk around Northbrook Waters and then to Station Cafe at 10.30 a.m. to purchase your coffee.

Third Wednesday of the month, 10.00 a.m.  Next held on 16 May at Café 51, Main Street, Oxford. Facilitated by Ans from the Oxford Cancer Society Volunteer Support Group. All patients and carers most welcome. 

 

 

A programme for therapeutic movement to assist lymphatic flow.

The pool class is part of the Healthy Steps programme. Healthy Steps is a therapy, exercise, and movement programme for anyone with lymphoedema or who is at risk of developing lymphoedema.

When: Friday mornings 9.30am to 10.05am, during school term time - see below for dates.

Where: Diana Isaac Retirement Village, 1 Lady Isaac Way, Mairehau, Christchurch.

To register, please call us on (03) 379 5835

Term Dates
Term 1 Friday 29 January
Friday 5 February
Friday 12 February
Friday 19 February
Friday 26 February
Friday 5 March
Friday 12 March
Friday 19 March
Friday 26 March
Term 2 Friday 30 April
Friday 7 May
Friday 14 May
Friday 21 May
Friday 28 May
Friday 4 June
Friday 11 June
Friday 18 June
Friday 25 June
Friday 2 July
Term 3 Friday 30 July
Friday 6 August
Friday 13 August
Friday 20 August
Friday 27 August
Friday 3 September
Friday 10 September
Friday 17 September
Friday 24 September
Friday 1 October
Term 4

Friday 22 October

Friday 29 October
Friday 5 November
Friday 19 November
Friday 26 November
Friday 3 December
Friday 10 December

 

Held the last Wednesday of the month at 1.00 p.m.

Upcoming dates: 30 March, 27 April

The March meeting will be at the Cancer Society's North Canterbury Centre at 143 Percival Street, Rangiora.

We will confirm the location for the April group closer to the time.

 

Contact Gabrielle on 0800 226 695 to register or find out more.

Therapeutic Art group, Every Monday 10.00 am. to 12.00 p.m.

This weekly group is facilitated by Lynette. Held at Kaiapoi Baptist Church, 67 Fuller Street. Kaiapoi. Park on site. All patients and their carers welcome. Catering from absolute beginners to advanced painting skill.

 

Contact: 03 3795835 or groups@cancercwc.org.nz

First Wednesday of the month at 10.00am.   Upcoming dates: 6 April, 4th May

Meet other patients in this supportive and informative session. Held at the Cancer Society's North Canterbury Centre at 143 Percival Street, Rangiora.

This walking group walks at the pace of the slowest walker. Morning tea is enjoyed at Antigua Boatshed Café.

Meeting times, leaving from the bridge by the Botanic Gardens Kiosk and car park.

When:

  • Summer 10.00 am
  • Winter 11.00 am

Where: Botanic Gardens Kiosk and car park.

Contact: Brenda on 027 375 8109

 

Prost-FIT is a weekly exercise class for men living with Prostate Cancer at any stage of diagnosis or treatment. You will become stronger and fitter and see improvements in your balance and brain health. All fitness levels are welcome.

"It's great to be part of a caring and friendly group of men who have a common interest in maintaining or improving their prostate health and their overall mental and physical well-being. I now have a new group of friends." - Doug

Cost: $10 per person per session

When: Wednesday from 1:00pm - 2:00pm.

Where: Bodyfix Gym, 29 Leeds Street, Phillipstown (Off Fitzgerald Ave).

Contact: 021 0228 2551 or tim@eamnz.com, www.exerciseasmedicinenz.com.

We are running exercise classes for men living with Cancer. So if you are living with cancer or if you know a man living with cancer, please contact David in the first instance to discuss joining the classes.

Experienced fitness instructor with monthly guest speakers.

When: every Tuesday morning 11am.

Where: Affinity Fitness, 107 Blenheim Road, Riccarton, Christchurch. 

Contact: David Cattermole 027 202 7525, bluebrotherschch@gmail.com.

Available for cancer patients and carers to find out about treatment related support and rehabilitation. Held monthly (or thereabouts). Please contact Gabrielle on 0800 226 695 to make an appointment.     

The next clinics will be at:

    Amuri Health Centre - Friday 25th of March 10.00 am to 12.00 pm

    Oxford Hospital - Wednesday 4th of May  2.00 pm to 4.00 pm  

Christchurch
Phone number
Call us on (03) 379 5835
Email address
Follow us on social media
Physical address
97 Fitzgerald Ave, Christchurch 8011
Postal address
PO Box 13 450, Christchurch 8141
Monday
8.30am – 5pm
Tuesday
8.30am – 5pm
Wednesday
8.30am – 5pm
Thursday
8.30am – 5pm
Friday
8.30am – 5pm
Saturday
Closed
Sunday
Closed
Follow us on social media
Last updated: October 6, 2021