Our services are available to anyone affected by cancer and their family/whānau.

See below for a list of our wellbeing, information and support groups or subscribe to the calendar. 

Subscribe to the calendar

This session is to help those experiencing the loss of a loved one from cancer. The presentation will cover grief and loss, and the support and resources available to family and whānau.

Co-facilitated by Ingrid Vargas, Counsellor - Matthew Brodie House and Gabrielle O’Connell, Cancer Society.

When: Friday 20 August, 10-11:30am

For more information or to register, please contact Gabrielle on 021 904 907 or 0800 226 695.

 

 

 

The group is facilitated by Jason Clements. New participants welcome.

When: Mondays from Monday 2 August for six weeks, 10:30am-12:00pm

Where: Rangiora Library, 141 Percival Street, Rangiora

Check back for 2021 dates & times.

 

Where:  Cancer Society Centre, 97 Fitzgerald Ave, Christchurch.

4 week course.

Seated or lying: Relaxes and restores the body with gentle poses, breathing and mindfulness, improving body awareness and range of movement. 

Where:  Cancer Society Centre, 97 Fitzgerald Ave, Christchurch.

Contact: 03 379 5835 or groups@cancercwc.org.nz 

4 week course. 

A programme for people with cancer and their caregivers/whanau providing psychological and emotional support with focus on mindful coping skills and reflections about meaning in life for people with cancer and their caregivers/whanau. 

Where: Cancer Society Centre, 97 Fitzgerald Ave, Christchurch.

Contact: 03 379 5835 or groups@cancercwc.org.nz

A programme for therapeutic movement to assist lymphatic flow.

The pool class is part of the Healthy Steps programme. Healthy Steps is a therapy, exercise, and movement programme for anyone with lymphoedema or who is at risk of developing lymphoedema.

When: Friday mornings 9.30am to 10.05am, during school term time - see below for dates.

Where: Diana Isaac Retirement Village, 1 Lady Isaac Way, Mairehau, Christchurch.

To register, please call us on (03) 379 5835

Term Dates
Term 1 Friday 29 January
Friday 5 February
Friday 12 February
Friday 19 February
Friday 26 February
Friday 5 March
Friday 12 March
Friday 19 March
Friday 26 March
Term 2 Friday 30 April
Friday 7 May
Friday 14 May
Friday 21 May
Friday 28 May
Friday 4 June
Friday 11 June
Friday 18 June
Friday 25 June
Friday 2 July
Term 3 Friday 30 July
Friday 6 August
Friday 13 August
Friday 20 August
Friday 27 August
Friday 3 September
Friday 10 September
Friday 17 September
Friday 24 September
Friday 1 October
Term 4

Friday 22 October

Friday 29 October
Friday 5 November
Friday 19 November
Friday 26 November
Friday 3 December
Friday 10 December

 

We welcome you to join our therapeutic creative and fun writing group, "Words Worth", facilitated by Trish Waters.

When: Weekly on a Friday afternoon at 1:00pm-2:00pm.

Where: Cancer Society Centre, 97 Fitzgerald Ave, Christchurch.

Contact: 03 379 5835 or groups@cancercwc.org.nz

With the guidance of our volunteer artists Sandy Gottermeyer, Karen
Greenslade and their team. Join us for an easy, relaxed, enjoyable and
rewarding experience creating an artwork on canvas.

Please note: Bookings are essential as spaces are very limited, and there is limited parking is available at the front of the building.

When: Held on 1st and 2nd Monday of the month from 10am – 12pm, 3rd Monday will be an Art Gallery visit followed by Coffee.

Where: 97 Fitzgerald Ave, Christchurch Central.

Contact: 03 3795835 or groups@cancercwc.org.nz

Next dates to be confirmed.

This walking group walks at the pace of the slowest walker. Morning tea is enjoyed at Antigua Boatshed Café.

Meeting times, leaving from the bridge by the Botanic Gardens Kiosk and car park.

When:

  • Summer 10.00 am
  • Winter 11.00 am

Where: Botanic Gardens Kiosk and car park.

Contact: Brenda on 027 375 8109

 

Prost-FIT is a weekly exercise class for men living with Prostate Cancer at any stage of diagnosis or treatment. You will become stronger and fitter and see improvements in your balance and brain health. All fitness levels are welcome.

"It's great to be part of a caring and friendly group of men who have a common interest in maintaining or improving their prostate health and their overall mental and physical well-being. I now have a new group of friends." - Doug

Cost: $10 per person per session

When: Wednesday from 1:00pm - 2:00pm.

Where: Bodyfix Gym, 29 Leeds Street, Phillipstown (Off Fitzgerald Ave).

Contact: 021 0228 2551 or tim@eamnz.com, www.exerciseasmedicinenz.com.

We are running exercise classes for men living with Cancer. So if you are living with cancer or if you know a man living with cancer, please contact David in the first instance to discuss joining the classes.

Experienced fitness instructor with monthly guest speakers.

When: every Tuesday morning 11am.

Where: Affinity Fitness, 107 Blenheim Road, Riccarton, Christchurch. 

Contact: David Cattermole 027 202 7525, bluebrotherschch@gmail.com.

Christchurch
Phone number
Call us on (03) 379 5835
Email address
Follow us on social media
Physical address
97 Fitzgerald Ave, Christchurch 8011
Postal address
PO Box 13 450, Christchurch 8141
Monday
8.30am – 5pm
Tuesday
8.30am – 5pm
Wednesday
8.30am – 5pm
Thursday
8.30am – 5pm
Friday
8.30am – 5pm
Saturday
Closed
Sunday
Closed
Follow us on social media
Last updated: October 6, 2021